The Heating and Air Conditioning Contractors of Maryland program held its graduation ceremony at the Red Lion Inn in Timonium on May 8. Twenty-seven of the 33 students were students who completed the program at Harford Community College. Completers of this four-year program will be able to apply for and be granted an HVACR journeyperson license from the Maryland Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation.

Stephanie Anderson, Executive Director at HACC, welcomed the students and guests and introduced the speakers. “We are so excited as these apprentice students become journeyman. It was not an easy task spending two nights a week for four years learning the trade while working full time and juggling responsibilities for your family and friends. There was never a better time to become a journeyperson in this industry, as it is projected to grow by 15% in the next seven years and a large majority of our workforce is nearing retirement age. Our newly trained technicians will be able to create their own career path,” said Ms. Anderson. Both the guest speaker, James E. Rzepkowski, Acting Secretary of the Maryland Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation, and keynote speaker, Jamie Quanrud of Honeywell Home, addressed the graduating class, congratulating them for their hard work and dedication to the program. The valedictorian award was presented to Austin Dennison, apprenticeship student from Harford Community College.

The Heating and Air Conditioning Contractors of Maryland is a local trade association representing independent heating, ventilation, air conditioning, and refrigeration (HVACR) contractors in Central Maryland. The apprenticeship program was established in 1996 to train technicians to work in the HVACR industry. The program is a four-year curriculum that gives credit for on-the-job training and classroom training.

Students completing their apprenticeship training at Harford Community College include Richard Boblits, Christopher Buell, David Bush, Timothy Clontz, Matthew Daugherty, Austin Dennison, Brian Dill, David Edens, Benjamin Feldman, Cory Fitch, Bryan Frock, Kyle Jenkins, Peter Kilchenstein, Austin Kirby, Sean Klein, Jeffery Kreit, Jordan Lynch, Nicholas Malozi, John Misey, Brian Moffett, Victor Neiser, Michael Penn, Andy Phillips, Kenneth Shelley, Michael Shrewsbury, Shawnte White, and Justin Wiedermann.

For more information on the program, visit or call 410-431-8889. Applications for entry into the program are available on July 1 and are due by August 16. To apply, visit to print out an application.